Baby K’tan Active Carrier & SmartGear Diaper Bag Review

During my pregnancy, one of the things that I was looking forward to other than the arrival of my child, was Babywearing.

Babywearing is the practice of wearing or carrying a baby in a sling or in another form of carrier. Babywearing has been practiced for centuries around the world. In the industrialized world, babywearing has gained popularity in recent decades. Part of the reason for this shift is due to the influence of advocates of attachment parenting. Babywearing is a form of baby transportwhich can be enjoyed for as long as mutually desired, often until toddlerhood and beyond.

The concept of Babywearing has always appealed to me because it leads to a more intimate maternal bond through the close proximity of the baby and her mother. Furthermore with baby wearing, I can bring Shay everywhere I go and have both my hands empty to do other things.

So in search of a carrier that is suitable for a newborn, I stumbled upon a whole new world of Wraps, Slings, Ring Slings, Mei Tais etc. I however, was particularly intrigued by baby wraps but frowned at the idea of tying so many knots and having so much cloth around me. I needed something light, easy to use, and preferably cooling for our sweltering weather.

That’s when I came across the Baby K’tan Active Carrier.

The Baby K’tan ACTIVE is made of a breathable hi-tech performance fabric that wicks away moisture and sweat, blocks over 90% of the sun’s harmful UVA and UVB rays, and provides a unique temperature control.

– Ergonomic positioning for healthy infant development.
– Evenly distributes weight across back and shoulders.
– Double-loop design slips on like a t-shirt.

Baby Ktan 2 Ktan

Isn’t that cool? The Baby K’tan Active wrap is not only affordable, but puts a tick on all the checkboxes for the wrap I’ve been looking for!

Without further ado, I contacted Happy Coast Kids and got my hands on my very own K’tan in Coral colour. And you know what? It’s one of the best purchases I’ve ever made. Why? Because my baby automatically goes to sleep when she is inside the K’tan! No longer do I need to suffer from having aching arms when I cradle her for long periods of time.

Trying the K'tan during confinement

Trying out the K’tan during confinement


IMG_2667

The K’tan has become an indispensable item for me. I use it everyday when I go out with Shay.


Shay can sleep in the K'tan for hours.

Shay can sleep in the K’tan for hours.

Not only have I fallen in love with the K’tan, even the husband has started babywearing Shay in his K’tan as well.

12795056_1281329911880395_3191039937859989576_o

Enjoying a beautiful weekend with my loves.

As you can see from the pictures above, my husband is using the Baby K’tan Original Carrier, which is made of 100% Cotton. The reason why we have separate carriers because the K’tan comes in sizes. I guess that’s the only downside about the Baby K’tan; you can’t share it with your husband if both of you are of different sizes.

But hey! Size aside, it is just so functional and convenient to use the K’tan! No knots, no tying, no need for any infant insert whatsoever. And best of all, it comes in dry-fit material which is suitable for our crazy hot weather.

Other than the Baby K’tan Active Wrap, I’ve also got my hands on the SmartGear Diaper Bag which impressed me as well.

Ktan Bag Ktan Bag 2

Unfortunately, the one I have is in Timeless Black colour but I guess Black is a timeless and unisex colour so no complains there.

IMG_2573

I know it looks very plain and small, but let me wow you with the amount of things that can actually fit inside!

IMG_2574

What I love about the SmartGear Diaper Bag is that it feels incredibly light as compared to the other diaper bags that I have. The organisational freak in me is absolutely delighted that it has 12 compartments, including two inner pockets lined with anti-microbial, water-resistant, odor-resistant, FDA food-grade lining to prevent germ growth and contain smell. Best of all, it has a BUILT IN ANTIBACTERIAL & water resistant compartment which you can use to put in baby’s soiled clothing, milk bottles, wet swimwear, and even food! Ktan Bag3

In addition, the SmartGear Diaper Bag comes with straps that can be worn cross-body, over the shoulder or connect to stroller’s handle bars, which makes it a really functional and smart product. The simplistic yet stylish look of the bag also makes it suitable (and macho) for dads to carry, or even use it as their own gym bags!

This nifty bag is also very easy to upkeep and maintain. Just chuck it into the washing machine when it gets dirty and viola~! Easy peasy.

So there you go, both the K’tan Baby Active Carrier and SmartGear Diaper Bag might look ordinary to the eyes, but its functionalities has truly made my life – an active mom who needs to travel light and bring baby wherever she goes – so much easier and convenient! Which is why I highly recommend both products, if you are looking for something versatile, smart, light, and streamlined. Trust me, you won’t regret it!

Disclaimer: I was provided the Baby K’Tan SmartGear Diaper Bag for the purposes of this review. All opinions expressed are my own.

Leave a Reply

